Karplus strong

Discuss John Bowen Synths - Solaris
Weston Underwood

Karplus strong

Post by Weston Underwood »

Any advice on creating a tuned karplus strong sound. I've had a play with the comb filters and the delay effect with the spdif output returned to a second filter. I couldn't think of another way to route to sound post effects back into the filter but as I write this I wonder if setting up a loop with the comb filters via a mixer might be the way ahead.

Any hints or tips of a specific Solaris nature? Particularly tuning the sound.

Thanks in advance!
Zahush76

Re: Karplus strong

Post by Zahush76 »

I'm no expert, but i can say this. Ken Elhardt made some one of the banks, and designed some strings, guitar etc - and insisted he didn't use any Karplus strong.
So i think going to Ken's presets and following what he did and how he programmed his sounds seems like a good starting point.
John Bowen
Site Admin

Post by John Bowen »

Technically the comb filter is already that - it's a delay line with positive or negative feedback. You should only need to put it in near oscillation and send a short noise burst to excite the filter. The Damping factor is the lowpass filter in the feedback loop.

However, Ken said that he expected to be able to make good K-S sounds with it, but that we had something 'wrong'. For my part, I had a difficulty as well in getting really what I expected. More research and input from anyone who has more experience with K-S would be appreciated!
Weston Underwood

Thanks Zahush

I thought of that, but then as you say Ken said he didn't use KS so I can't check his sounds for how to use it!

Thanks JB. I agree that the comb filter doesn't sound quite right, not as fattened or hollowed out as others Ive used (like the one on the octatrack for example). On the OT the controls are:

PTCH (pitch) controls the resonance frequency of the comb filter.
TUNE changes the pitch by up to 2 semitones up or down.