While waiting for my Solaris...

Discuss John Bowen Synths - Solaris
minorguy

While waiting for my Solaris...

Post by minorguy »

The traffic is kind of slow so I thought I'd throw up a picture of something I've been working on while I'm waiting for my Solaris (production #4). I thought it might be useful to have a way to see what's connected to what in a preset. It might make it easier to see how other people's presets work, to answer questions like "What is LFO1 affecting?" So I started writing a program based on the info I could get from the user manual. Attached is a screenshot. The primary purpose was to show the structure of a preset; although I guess it's not all that far from being an editor I don't know whether an editor is even useful given the Solaris hardware UI.
Attachments
solscrn1.jpg
Solaris #249
christeck

Re: While waiting for my Solaris...

Post by christeck »

I doubt I'd become comfortable with any editor for creating presets. The Solaris' interface works almost perfectly for me.

Analysing existing patches is a completely different thing. For that purpose, your tool appears to be of great help.

ce
M-Prod

Post by M-Prod »

I think this would be amazing. I often scratch my head figuring out what is modulating what, especially when the routing is complex (wheel to amount of the mixer mixing Lfo'so through lag processor modulating pitch, stuff like that).

And yes I agree traffic is slow. I post rarely but still post more then most. I guess mostly because there are relatively few solarisee out there and the crowd is not post savvy. Maybe because of higher age or busy lives (few young people are able afford one I guess). It's a shame though there are so many tips tricks and applications to share.
John Bowen
Site Admin

Post by John Bowen »