Sequencer and holding a key

Discuss John Bowen Synths - Solaris
Post Reply
pfrancq
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 4:51 am

Sequencer and holding a key

Post by pfrancq » Mon Aug 29, 2016 4:59 am

Hi,
Currently, I cannot activate the 'Hold' mode with the 'Sequencer' one, while it is possible for the 'Hold' and the 'Arpeggiator' ones to be active simultaneously. Is there a reason or should this be a future feature?
Pascal Francq

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1592
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Re: Sequencer and holding a key

Post by John Bowen » Mon Aug 29, 2016 1:37 pm

pfrancq wrote:Hi,
Currently, I cannot activate the 'Hold' mode with the 'Sequencer' one, while it is possible for the 'Hold' and the 'Arpeggiator' ones to be active simultaneously. Is there a reason or should this be a future feature?
The sequencer in the Solaris is often called a ‘gated step sequencer’, as keys/notes must be held down for it to play. You also find this type of sequencer on the Prophet ’08, for example.

At the moment, there are no plans to change this (and I’m not sure if implementing a Hold button with this type of sequencer is even possible in the code).

pfrancq
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 4:51 am

Re: Sequencer and holding a key

Post by pfrancq » Wed Aug 31, 2016 6:19 am

I understand. But it could be useful to launch a sequence and transpose it without the need to maintain the key down (this could free one hand to do something else). Anyway, certainly not the most important feature.
Pascal Francq

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1592
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Re: Sequencer and holding a key

Post by John Bowen » Wed Aug 31, 2016 8:34 am

Of course it would be great to have this (which you can do with the arpeggiator, by the way).
I’m actually not aware of any other synth that has this sequencer function, but would like to know if anyone is aware of one.

pfrancq
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 4:51 am

Re: Sequencer and holding a key

Post by pfrancq » Thu Sep 01, 2016 1:04 am

It's precisely because it works with the arpeggiator that I supposed it could work with the sequencer too. I am not a synth specialist, but I have no clue if one has this feature. I know a few ones, but no one has it. I used to use the sustain pedal, but it was not always practical. Now, I use a little MIDI controller that allows to configure an on/off pad to simulate a key on/key off MIDI message.
Pascal Francq

M-Prod
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:19 am

Re: Sequencer and holding a key

Post by M-Prod » Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:08 pm

I had this request too. So in short it would mean a means to hold the key. When the sequencer is running the hold button works as a 'hold key'. Not
Necessary part of the sequencer code (I'm not a code expert but in my limited rationale I always think that a 'hold key' function must not be hard to implement).
Btw there is a (not perfect) workaround where you enable both the arp and the sequencer. That allows you to 'hold' the sequencer via the arp.I explained it somewhere else in the forum

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest