VCA1 silent due to sigma curve of VCA3

Moderator: Solaris Moderators

Post Reply
christeck
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:13 am

VCA1 silent due to sigma curve of VCA3

Post by christeck » Fri Feb 13, 2015 1:01 pm

Hi,

I have no clue whether this one is a bug or a user error, so here it is:

Load P56.PRE. Part 1 is enabled, but the Solaris is silent.

Switch to VCA 3. Change its curve from Sigma to Linear.

The silence is gone.


ce
Attachments
P56.PRE.zip
(1.42 KiB) Downloaded 72 times

Patate le mgae
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:17 am

Re: VCA1 silent due to sigma curve of VCA3

Post by Patate le mgae » Sat Feb 14, 2015 2:45 pm

I had a look at your sound.
Nice sound by the way.
Same problem the first time i used it.
So i try to reproduce the same thing with a fresh one.
I can't reproduced but i notice that the change of curve on the VCA3 have a great influence on the curve of the VCA1.
Strangely when i came back on your sound, the problem of silence is gone, whatever the curve i used on VCA 3. Only if i choose LOG curve on VCA3 the sound is louder on VCA 1.
So i reboot my unit to try again :
Now it's very strange : no sound to begin.
I go on a fresh sound, now the bug is present :
VCA1 Linear, VCA3 Sigma : No sound.
VCA1 Linear, VCA 3 Linear : Sound.
VCA1 Sigma, VCA3 curve modify the sound.
VCA1 Linear, VCA3 curve modify the sound.
I go back on your sound and now i always have sound but the VCA3 Curve modify it.
I think that John have talked about something like that in the past, i can't remember exactly.

On another hand i had a look at your sound and i don't understand why in the mix 1 you put Lag1 Lag2 Am1 Filter1 as entries.
Lag1 is VCO1 with no lag time so i think you can change it with VCO1.
Same thing with Lag2. Perhaps some subtility i don't understand here.

christeck
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:13 am

Re: VCA1 silent due to sigma curve of VCA3

Post by christeck » Sun Feb 15, 2015 1:01 am

Thanks a lot for your effort.

Concerning the lag processors, it is my default setup to emulate the »Edge« parameter of the Korg Z1. It allows to control the partials right at the source. Press the Shift button and slowly increase the lag time and it will remove higher frequencies, similar to a low pass filter.

In the preset provided, it's not used, so yes, it could be changed to feed the oscillators directly into the mixer.

Patate le mgae
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:17 am

Re: VCA1 silent due to sigma curve of VCA3

Post by Patate le mgae » Sun Feb 15, 2015 7:37 am

Ok Christek, i understand why you do that.
Yesterday evening i used this idea ( you gived me with your sound ) to create a sort of PWM on a sine, very interesting sound.
I explain :
VCO1 Square
LFO 1 modulates the shape of VCO1
VCO1 into Lag1 with a time of 1.0ms: the angles of the square are shaved.
Lag1 into mixer1 and so on.

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1756
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Re: VCA1 silent due to sigma curve of VCA3

Post by John Bowen » Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:34 pm

christeck wrote:Concerning the lag processors, it is my default setup to emulate the »Edge« parameter of the Korg Z1. It allows to control the partials right at the source. Press the Shift button and slowly increase the lag time and it will remove higher frequencies, similar to a low pass filter.
The lag processors are, in fact, 1 pole lowpass filters.

John B.

Post Reply