Patch Master Volume Issues

Moderator: Solaris Moderators

Post Reply
jgale
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:38 pm
Location: New York

Patch Master Volume Issues

Post by jgale » Sun Feb 11, 2018 5:36 pm

Hi All,

I am having an issue with Master Volume between patches.

When I switch between patches, output volume of the Solaris remains constant. On certain patches, when I touch the Master Volume, the volume falls dramatically, and I can not get it back to the previous volume. To regain the volume on that patch - I switch to another louder patch and then switch back. On other patches, Master Volume output works as it should.

It seems to happen on patches created with an older OS release - but I am not sure.

Any thoughts?

John

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1726
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Re: Patch Master Volume Issues

Post by John Bowen » Sun Feb 11, 2018 10:15 pm

The Master Volume is not stored anywhere, so I wouldn’t expect it to have anything to do with patch creation on an older OS. Make sure your Master Volume is calibrated correctly by checking the ‘Self Test’ menu - hold 1-8-3 at the same time to get this menu, and select #4 Analog Controls, then #4 again for Main Volume. Following the instructions in the display, turn the knob to full minimum, then full maximum. Press Exit twice to return to normal synth operations.

jgale
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:38 pm
Location: New York

Re: Patch Master Volume Issues

Post by jgale » Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:54 am

John - I just tried to calibrate the volume knob and it did not help. This was also happening when receiving CC#7 remotely.

For a test, I went back to OS 1.3 and it worked fine there.

I re-flashed 1.4.2 - and now it works fine again. I'm not sure what was happening...

John

jgale
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:38 pm
Location: New York

Re: Patch Master Volume Issues

Post by jgale » Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:42 pm

Quick Update - I think I solved it!

I had a flaky expression pedal plugged into the Solaris. When the floor was jostled (footsteps / heavy playing), the pedal would jump and send a low value to the Solaris. When I played a patch that has the expression pedal set to Expr - the Master Volume knob only sets the volume to the maximum amount of the pedal setting. So patches that were controlled by this could never obtain the full volume.

I replaced the pedal. All good for now...

John

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1726
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Re: Patch Master Volume Issues

Post by John Bowen » Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:51 pm

Ahhhh, good to know!

minorguy
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 12:09 pm
Location: San Jose, CA, USA

Re: Patch Master Volume Issues

Post by minorguy » Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:57 pm

This sort of thing drove me nuts more than once also. I couldn't figure out why the volume was so low. I eventually realized it was the expression pedal at a low position.
Solaris #249

Post Reply