Wavetable numbers

User Feature Request List

Moderator: Solaris Moderators

Post Reply
M-Prod
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:19 am

Wavetable numbers

Post by M-Prod » Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:20 pm

When selecting a wave in the wavetable oscillator, the value shows 0-100. I would prefer if it would show the wavetable number (and abbreviated name if possible). I tried to match ppg presets, but had to find the right wave by ear instead of just selecting the number.

cheers

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1735
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Re: Wavetable numbers

Post by John Bowen » Wed Apr 08, 2015 12:19 am

I didn’t know the wavetables had official names. Can you send me a list?

M-Prod
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:19 am

Re: Wavetable numbers

Post by M-Prod » Wed Apr 08, 2015 12:31 pm

It's in the plugin but found it online:

http://hkwad.home.xs4all.nl/waldorf/wavetables.html

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1735
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Re: Wavetable numbers

Post by John Bowen » Wed Apr 08, 2015 12:46 pm

HA! I just realized, we already have these in the Solaris!!

when you select the WT Osc Type, and select the Wave number, not only do the wavetable numbers match (they start at 1 in the current OS) and the name of the wavetable appears in the bottom line of the graphics display.

Sounds like you need to update your OS!!

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1735
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Re: Wavetable numbers

Post by John Bowen » Wed Apr 08, 2015 1:42 pm

Correction - the numbering is correct in the Oscillator Wave list, but the number is offset by one (as you state) where the name is displayed in the graphic screen. Oops!

M-Prod
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:19 am

Re: Wavetable numbers

Post by M-Prod » Sat Apr 11, 2015 11:29 pm

Ok thanks, John, so it seems i have An old os ;-). I will update it.

M-Prod
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:19 am

Re: Wavetable numbers

Post by M-Prod » Sun Apr 12, 2015 11:58 am

Oh sorry John. I was confused. I meant the shape... The wavetable consists of a discrete number of waves right? The ppg (plugin) shows a number from 0-63. I guess the solaris has 64 waves too since you can hear the stepping through the table every 1,5 - 2 percent. But the shape parameter shows 0-100%.
Last edited by M-Prod on Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:10 pm, edited 4 times in total.

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1735
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Re: Wavetable numbers

Post by John Bowen » Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:08 pm

Ah, yes, I got it - right now we left the parameter value to be the same no matter what it's adjusting. Probably more out of expediency than anything else. I'll add it to the list of incremental value edits.

M-Prod
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:19 am

Re: Wavetable numbers

Post by M-Prod » Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:22 pm

tnx! (lol, your reply was there before i finished my post(edit), now that's what i call fast response)

chapolin
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:35 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Wavetable numbers

Post by chapolin » Tue Jun 09, 2015 1:00 pm

Hi,

I have a new idea, I tried to found it in the user feature request but seem to no exist. Maybe it's to much to ask but maybe not a lot of work ? would it be possible to apply modulations to the wave parameter ? one might program a sweep of the different waves like in the waldorf Q :)

christeck
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:13 am

Re: Wavetable numbers

Post by christeck » Tue Jun 09, 2015 1:45 pm

Isn't that possible?

* OSC1 to "WT"
* Modulation 1 to LFO or EG
* Modulation destination to "Shape"
* Modulation amount to your linkings
* Optionally LpEG1 X or LpEG1 Y to emulate the eight stage envelope of the MIcrowave I

What's IIRC missing is a stepped vs smooth parameter which the MW I provides, though I don't know how much it actually was used in presets.

Post Reply