Make Sure You Have Spare SD Cards

Moderator: Solaris Moderators

Post Reply
scope4live
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Somewhere between 120 and 150bpm

Make Sure You Have Spare SD Cards

Post by scope4live » Thu Jul 28, 2016 11:50 am

Boy oh boy what a scary feeling.

Set up for a gig and had ZERO sound from Solaris.
Run digitally so I reverted to analog outs as I have a bank copied using that config.
NO SOUND>..... :shock:

Went and put IEMs in the headphone out NO SOUND.... :shock:

Freaking out as I have spare analog, spare XITE-1s but no spare Solaris.....

As a last resort I stuck in a spare SD Card...........voila.
Everything worked and like a smart chap I copied everything.
Lost 4 or 5 presets.

Now I know to keep a copy on my Desktop/PC just in case I don't transfer to SD.
But with a messed up card Solaris has NO AUDIO...

BE forewarned.

Break down and get a pair of 30MBps 8GB Cards for 30 bucks on Amazon.
Magnus C350 on a TV Dinner Tray Stand with 2 x PigNose Amps for stereo


https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/wormhole

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1616
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Re: Make Sure You Have Spare SD Cards

Post by John Bowen » Thu Jul 28, 2016 12:27 pm

Weird....but thanks for posting, Jimmy! Very curious as to what the display said with the bad CF card inserted.

John

scope4live
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Somewhere between 120 and 150bpm

Re: Make Sure You Have Spare SD Cards

Post by scope4live » Thu Jul 28, 2016 4:09 pm

Hey JB, Happy Anniversary too.

That's what freaked me, absolutely nothing.

But I had to reboot Solaris off and on over the last month.
Something was amiss,

I can count the seconds Solaris takes to boot, then seconds to load the samples.
So I know it's routine and I was nervous for the last few weeks.

So relieved it was a Card from 2011.
The original Solaris card is being used now.
Got 22 Banks of presets, forgot about all of them....

I have Zebra2 HZ set up as a back up so I lose no time, but that would be torture having to play soft all night.
I have 3 or 4 presets that Zebra2 HZ does really well like Edgar Winters Wah Wah ARP 2600S from Frankenstien, Baba O'Riley Looping EG Intro, etc.

Obviously the OS is not being engaged, but everything looks normal, just no audio....

Cheerz
Magnus C350 on a TV Dinner Tray Stand with 2 x PigNose Amps for stereo


https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/wormhole

scope4live
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Somewhere between 120 and 150bpm

Re: Make Sure You Have Spare SD Cards

Post by scope4live » Thu Jul 28, 2016 4:10 pm

I am honored to have played Solaris for so many gigs that my Card croaked....

ANkyu
Magnus C350 on a TV Dinner Tray Stand with 2 x PigNose Amps for stereo


https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/wormhole

Post Reply