SOLARIS SAMPLE OSCILLATORS

Discuss John Bowen Synths - Solaris
scope4live
Posts: 547
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Somewhere between 120 and 150bpm

SOLARIS SAMPLE OSCILLATORS

Post by scope4live »

Dear John,

I hate to be such a ball buster lately, but it's your fault for making such awesome synths.

We will be able to use the Sample Oscillators in the hardware version w/ bigger WAV's?

Also, would this be available in the software 5.0 version as well?

Is there a limit in terms of MB's that I should focus on,



Thanks,


JV

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Post by John Bowen »

For the software plug-in, you are only limited by your computer's system RAM. For the Solaris keyboard, we have 32 MB on-board RAM for samples and user wavetables.

-john b.

scope4live
Posts: 547
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Somewhere between 120 and 150bpm

Post by scope4live »

Well there is something the software will do better !! :roll:


Thanks Bossman.

JV

stardust
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:57 am

Post by stardust »

The user wavetaböes sound interesting.
Will there be some SW supporting the creation of the wavetables ?

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Post by John Bowen »

stardust wrote:The user wavetables sound interesting.
Will there be some SW supporting the creation of the wavetables ?
Yes, that is the plan.

-jb

Mr. Black
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 11:53 pm

Post by Mr. Black »

Will the on board RAM be expandable,or fixed at 32mb?

fizzydiodes
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 4:17 am

Post by fizzydiodes »

its at this point i think - is it a synth with some sample ram for user tables etc or a synth / sample resynthesiser . . .I would love to see the ability to load long sections of sound and crossmorph these etc and mutate but then maybe were moving away from the Solaris as a synth ? my dreams always been to have a synth with tasty features but also one i can load up perminantly with my favourite sample waveforms ( about 512mb or 1gb :) and then dial these in anytime along with the internal ones . . . i know 1gb is silly and why i am always lusting after the oasys also , i would just love a synth i can really load up with samples.32mb is cool for user tables and a few samples and for samples which act as cyclic osc waveforms but expansion options would be very cool . . . - i guess what i would like is 1gb sample rom ! ( user loadable ) :)


Mr. Black wrote:Will the on board RAM be expandable,or fixed at 32mb?

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Post by John Bowen »

Mr. Black wrote:Will the on board RAM be expandable,or fixed at 32mb?
The onboard RAM must be soldered onto the board, so it's not very easily 'upgradeable' (unless you are really, really good with miniscule soldering!). When we make the final parts order and pricing, I will know the exact amount of RAM that will be in there, but for now it's 32MB.

-john b.

stardust
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:57 am

Post by stardust »

John Bowen wrote:
stardust wrote:The user wavetables sound interesting.
Will there be some SW supporting the creation of the wavetables ?
Yes, that is the plan.

-jb
Very convincing. I am glad again to be on the waiting list. thanks John

Mr. Black
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 11:53 pm

Post by Mr. Black »

I guess what i should have asked was,would it be possible to expand the sample RAM in the future,maybe as an upgrade? But i see that it would be pretty difficult,32mb is still a good amount though and can go along way,you don't need gob's of memory for simple waveform's saw,square,pulse, ect.Flash Rom memory would be the best way to go for sample use, but i assume this is exspensive and not worth it for 32mb, i know the Nord Wave use's Flash for Wav import, but i don't care much for the Nord's sound and putting a 49 note keyboard on synth that cost upwards of $2700 is unacceptable to me.

scope4live
Posts: 547
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Somewhere between 120 and 150bpm

Post by scope4live »

User made wavetables is definately a great feature.

32MB's would be plenty of RAM. Especially if that is a per preset based application.

Combed Chime w/ Oberheim Synth String is one of many I already use in the software. It is a 24bit WAV made in Giga which is 2.1 MB's in size.

Atmosphere was made for audtioning and fast results, but suffers from lack of user made files.

Consider Solaris SW as " Stratosphere " . :D
Magnus C350 on a TV Dinner Tray Stand with 2 x PigNose Amps for stereo


https://soundcloud.com/jimmyvee/wormhole

shaynewhite
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by shaynewhite »

User wavetables will be fun! I can load my favorite waveforms from Rapture and put 'em through Solaris' synth engine. :D

stardust
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:57 am

Post by stardust »

Ehhmm are we talking about waveforms from samplefiles or are we talking about smootly sweepable wavetables like the waldorf wave had it and access virus ti has it ?

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am

Post by John Bowen »

The RAM holds both regular sample files and Waldorf-style wavetables. My plan is to have the editor able to load in both objects by the user.

-john b.

stardust
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:57 am

Post by stardust »

Thats the best choice - both. Excellent John.

Post Reply