Proper data structure for Solaris Presets

Post your presets to share with other Solaris owners.

Moderator: Solaris Moderators

John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1945
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am
Contact:

Proper data structure for Solaris Presets

Post by John Bowen »

Here is an important reminder, to make sure that any user Presets are properly ordered.

The Solaris requires the following structure:

Presets/BankN/Patch/p0.pre, p01.pre, etc.

(Where N following Bank is the next available bank number in your Preset folder).

So, a typical folder setup would be: Presets/Bank7/Patch/p0.pre, etc.


thanks,
john b.
valis
Site Admin
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 4:18 am
Contact:

Re: Proper data structure for Solaris Presets

Post by valis »

I converted the recent library that had all caps and made it bank 7, want me to share?
John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1945
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: Proper data structure for Solaris Presets

Post by John Bowen »

Ah, I should have corrected this....last time I had a chance to ask Julian about this, he said it doesn't matter! He changed to all caps in the new OS v1.2...so, I guess it was an unnecessary effort....sorry about that!
koenig
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 2:03 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Proper data structure for Solaris Presets

Post by koenig »

John Bowen wrote:(Where N following Bank is the next available bank number in your Preset folder).
Is there a limit to the number of banks? Patches are limited to 128, I do believe, but I have no recollection of seeing a bank limit. Sorry if this is a trivial question.

K
John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1945
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: Proper data structure for Solaris Presets

Post by John Bowen »

We did decide to limit it currently to 128 Banks, since that's the MIDI spec. Originally we had no limit, but it seemed unnecessary - 128 banks seemed to be enough.
koenig
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 2:03 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Proper data structure for Solaris Presets

Post by koenig »

John Bowen wrote:We did decide to limit it currently to 128 Banks, since that's the MIDI spec. Originally we had no limit, but it seemed unnecessary - 128 banks seemed to be enough.
Yikes! That is a lot! Thanks.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests