OS 2.0 : ARP don't work

Moderator: Solaris Moderators

delchambre
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:43 pm
Contact:

OS 2.0 : ARP don't work

Post by delchambre »

To get the ARP working back I had to set Realtime to Off in the page 2 of Midi paramaters.
What's this option made for ?
Also I had to set ARP/Pattern to 2 and PatLen to 2.
It's a bit strange, is there a way to reset default pattern to get an usual mode by default ?
You can check it in this video made for another purpose : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZoJ7Wy_CBOI
personnal stuffs : https://www.delchambre.be
the band : http://www.khohd.be

music is just a hobby, an exutory, a cure to me ...
John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1978
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: OS 2.0 : ARP don't work

Post by John Bowen »

I would suggest just using the User pattern, as it is like an INIT pattern. Pattern 2 is a little bit unusual.

If you are running Windows, you can use the arpeggiator editor that Jim has updated. I just posted something for it here: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=17148
delchambre
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: OS 2.0 : ARP don't work

Post by delchambre »

Thank's John, 'll test it (my User pattern is more messy :))
personnal stuffs : https://www.delchambre.be
the band : http://www.khohd.be

music is just a hobby, an exutory, a cure to me ...
John Bowen
Site Admin
Posts: 1978
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: OS 2.0 : ARP don't work

Post by John Bowen »

The “user pattern” is just data in the current preset. It’s not stored separately anywhere. It should be like an initialized pattern with no velocity or spaces.
Are you saying your user pattern produces differences in those two areas? That would be highly unusual. I would be very curious to take a listen. Can you send your INIT patch that does it?
minorguy
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 12:09 pm
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: OS 2.0 : ARP don't work

Post by minorguy »

delchambre wrote: Sun Jan 03, 2021 2:25 am To get the ARP working back I had to set Realtime to Off in the page 2 of Midi paramaters.
What's this option made for ?
The RealTime parameter is explained in the User Guide. This is for when you want the Solaris to sync to some other device such as a drum machine where the other device is sending clocks. When RealTime is On it means the Solaris's arp will wait until the other device sends a real time Start message so that they both start at the same time.

However when the Solaris clock source is set to Int (internal) or Send it should not be waiting for a real time start message. Only when it's set to external (or auto). This will be fixed in the next version.
Solaris #249
delchambre
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: OS 2.0 : ARP don't work

Post by delchambre »

Thank's I thought there is a new thing behind the realtime I was missing :)

So I check the 2.0.0.3, I still had many bugs with Midi over USB but if I connect Midi thru DIN, all is fine.
Bugs with Midi over USB :
- Clock not received (no tempo if clock is Ext, tempo only blinks if I push keys)
- A very strange one : I lost the sound when I was parsing and checking System tabs
- ARP editor doesn't work, but works fine in DIN mode
- If I unplug the USB cable to plug a DIN one, no more sound, a bit like it resets the preset to init but without changing values on the screen
nb : I check it with MidiOX on my laptop (lenovo thinkpad), exactly the same.

Another point, System and Midi parameters aren't saved, so when I power off, I lost them (don't know if it's new or not, I let it by default since I have the Solaris).
personnal stuffs : https://www.delchambre.be
the band : http://www.khohd.be

music is just a hobby, an exutory, a cure to me ...
synthwalker
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 3:16 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: OS 2.0 : ARP don't work

Post by synthwalker »

System and Midi global parameters must be saved from the System page : turn SAVE encoder until it reads ACTIVE and press ENTER
delchambre
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: OS 2.0 : ARP don't work

Post by delchambre »

Thank's Eric, as said somewhere else, I never had to change them ... in this case, I'm the bug.
personnal stuffs : https://www.delchambre.be
the band : http://www.khohd.be

music is just a hobby, an exutory, a cure to me ...
minorguy
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 12:09 pm
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: OS 2.0 : ARP don't work

Post by minorguy »

Hi delchambre,

The external clock not received on USB is a definite bug and will be fixed for the next version. However I cannot reproduce any of the other issues using Windows. Can you give some more detail?
delchambre wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:35 am- A very strange one : I lost the sound when I was parsing and checking System tabs
Can you easily cause this to happen again? Were you just navigating around the System pages by pressing Page-Up and Page-Down and the audio stopped? What does this have to do with USB? Can you still get sound when playing from the local keyboard? Is it just notes coming from USB that don't play?
delchambre wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:35 am- ARP editor doesn't work, but works fine in DIN mode
So I think what you're saying here is not that the Arp editor is not working but rather the USB connection is not working.
delchambre wrote: Sat Jan 16, 2021 1:35 am- If I unplug the USB cable to plug a DIN one, no more sound, a bit like it resets the preset to init but without changing values on the screen
nb : I check it with MidiOX on my laptop (lenovo thinkpad), exactly the same.
Are you saying that all you do is unplug the USB cable and suddenly you cannot get sound even when playing from the local keyboard?
What is making you think that it "resets to init" when there is no sound and the values on the display do not change?
When you say that you checked with MIDI-OX what do you mean? Do you mean you had MIDI-OX running and connected to the Solaris by USB and then you pulled the USB cable out and that's when you started having trouble?

Are you able to reproduce any of these bugs at will? If so, can you provide step-by-step description how you did it please?

If anyone else can reproduce these please let me know, and whether you're using Windows or Mac.

Jim
Solaris #249
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests